A few weeks ago, in what can only be described as an act of pure luck, I prepared a meal that everyone in my family enjoyed. It started with some internet searching, since I needed to come up with something for supper. I encountered ‘Daddy Casserole‘, modified it to use the ingredients on hand, and served it up with fear and trembling. Remarkably, it was a hit!

Tonight I made it again. When Middle Daughter heard what I was cooking, she ran off shouting to tell her sisters. (Score a point for me!)


Daddy Casserole

Daddy Casserole

  • 1 C rice (uncooked)
  • 1/2 lb sausage
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 3 C spaghetti sauce
  • 4 oz shredded cheese (mozzarella or cheddar or whatever…)

Prepare the rice. While the rice is cooking, brown the sausage. Set the sausage aside, but keep the fat in the skillet to cook the vegetables. Begin with the carrots, then add the celery and onion, and finally mix in the green pepper. (Substitute other vegetables, as desired.)

In a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish, layer from the bottom: the rice, veggies, and sausage. Pour the sauce evenly over the top, and finally add the cheese. Cook uncovered for 10 minutes in an oven pre-heated to 350 °F.

Enjoy!

