This blog post is a confession…

At church this morning, the message was based on Amos 5, a passage which includes these well-known words:

Let justice roll down like waters,
and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream.

Amos 5.24

There is quite a bit that one could say about this passage (and I’d like bring it up again later this week), but for now I’d like to focus on something our worship leader said…

Amos was a farmer…

Yes – in passing, she simply mentioned Amos’ “other” occupation, the one that paid the bills when he wasn’t being prophetic. He was a farmer. Check it out:

The words of Amos, who was among the shepherds of Tekoa…

Amos 1.1

I am a herdsman, and a dresser of sycamore trees…

Amos 7.14

So here’s the thing… I’ve just spent a lot of time in the past week and a half at the Westmoreland Fair among farmers (which is partly why I noticed when our worship leader called Amos a farmer). It was a whole lot of fun, and Ordinary Spouse and I were discussing how we appreciated the atmosphere created by farm families hanging out with their animals.

But I’m not used to thinking of getting my spiritual advice from them.

And here is Amos the Farmer, laying down the word of Lord, as well as any theologian that I’ve been reading lately.

Let that be a lesson to me.

