Your food choices at the Westmoreland Fair, presented without comment…


There are so many crazy foods, I’ve decided to let myself try one each year. Last year, it was the deep-fried Oreos. This year, I decided on the deep-fried Snickers bar…

Basically, the vendor takes a frozen Snickers bar, impales it on a skewer, dips it in batter, and throws it in the fryer. At first, the thing sinks, but after a few seconds it pops to the surface. After about a minute, you receive your treat. If you compare it to the fried pickles farther up the page, you may not be able to tell the difference.

Frankly, I wasn’t impressed. I basically had a big sticky bunch of goo with breading around the outside. Maybe I should have let it cool a bit before eating. Having now tried two weird fair foods, I recommend that you choose Oreos before Snickers.

Now I have a year to decide on my next food…

