The Ordinary Family has another major change coming! My frequent blog readers know that hospitality is an important part of my faith. It is one of the things that brought our family to Laurelville. Well – a new opportunity to learn and practice hospitality has opened up. Even though we have only been at Laurelville for a year, we have decided to make another transition.

StarbucksI’m excited to announce that beginning in May, the Ordinary Family will be moving to Seattle, and I’ll be a barista at Starbucks!

My time at Laurelville has prepared me for this important work. I’ll have Jesus’ words in mind as I interact with the “least of these”, offering them a warm welcome and a grande, nonfat, no whip, extra hot, salted caramel mocha:

I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me.

– Matthew 25.35 (NRSV)

And by living and working so close to Starbucks’ HQ, I’ll be able to learn from some of the best.

Coffee and scones. Community and hospitality. Starbucks and Anabaptists. Peas in a pod, don’t you think?

Stay tuned for many blog updates from “Hospitality Central”!

Seattle: "Hospitality Central"
Seattle: “Hospitality Central”
