Lent began this past week with Ash Wednesday lectionary readings coming from Matthew (among other places):

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust consume and where thieves break in and steal; but store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust consumes and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Matthew 6.19-21

And on Wednesday, I also happened to read Wendell Berry’s thoughts on storing up treasures. I’m often concerned by Christianity’s impulse to leave this world behind, so I appreciated his words:

Goods

It’s the immemorial feelings
I like the best: hunger, thirst,
their satisfaction; work-weariness,
earned rest; the falling again
from loneliness to love;
the green growth the mind takes
from the pastures in March;
the gayety in the stride
of a good team of Belgian mares
that seems to shudder from me
through all my ancestry.

(from A Part by Wendell Berry. San Francisco: North Point, 1980.)


(Incidentally, my sister has chosen A Part as our family’s book of the year. I’m going to enjoy this one. Also, you can hear Garrison Keillor read Goods on the “Writer’s Almanac” podcast for March 18, 2012.)

