(or ‘What I did on my day off’…)

The ordinary family is on a road trip to Illinois with a couple of days to rest in Goshen. And when in Goshen, here’s how I like to spend a morning…


Better World BooksStart at Better World Books, my favorite used bookstore. Browse for an hour or two (yes – I can browse that long) and try to not to pick out too many books. Today, I purchased with three.


Ten Thousand VillagesGo around the corner to Ten Thousand Villages. Take a look at the new fairly traded items from all around the world, sample some coffee, and ultimately come away with a bar or two of fair-trade chocolate. Today I got the Panama extra dark (my favorite – 80% cocoa) and the caramel crunch with sea salt (addictive!).


The Electric BrewFinish up at The Electric Brew. Order a mocha or latte (almond latte this morning) made from fair-trade beans they’ve roasted in-house. Sit down with one of my books (or a friend) and enjoy the ambiance of a local coffee house. Enjoy a square of the previously purchased chocolate. Watch for the “who’s who” in the Goshen Mennonite community.


Of course, given more time (and a ride to elsewhere in town), there are a few other places that I’d visit. I have a weakness for handmade mugs, so I’d go to the Old Bag Factory to browse Goertzen Pottery. And I’d swing by Goshen College for to stroll around the campus of my alma mater. Today I got a decal for the back of our van.


We have another day here before we continue west. We’re looking forward to some time at Camp Mennohaven with our church family from Lombard.

