Today I’m following up on last week’s observation that summer is coming to an end. As if to underscore the point, all of the tulip poplars around camp started shedding their leaves during Labor Day weekend. I hadn’t noticed anything before Thursday or Friday when it suddenly seemed as if the Laurelville swimming pool had been coated in leaves. I looked around (and up) and discovered the culprit (an aforementioned tulip poplar). And then I saw that it wasn’t just one – it was all of them…

Fallen leaves
Fallen leaves
Green to yellow to brown
Green to yellow to brown
A poplar at a distance
A poplar at a distance. It’s the one turning yellow.

Side story: we were noting how common the tulip poplars are at Laurelville, so Middle Daughter decided to conduct a little test tonight. She wondered if you could see a tulip poplar from any place at the camp. We picked ten locations to visit, and once we got there we looked for the poplars. At each location, there was at least one tree visible. We decided that the camp could have been named Poplarville.

The birches and beeches are also well into their color changing cycle. I wondered if the severity of the dry weather that we’re experiencing has something to do with the suddenness and earliness (as I perceive it) of the color change. This blog is now my record for comparison in future years.

