Nearly one month ago, I blogged about the job offer that I had just accepted. And after that dramatic announcement, the blog went nearly silent. A post about the weather. And an apology. And then nothing for over two weeks. But today when I left work, I took a long, deep breath and felt like the current chapter in this story had nearly come to an end.

Three months ago, I scheduled my busy time at work for this past week. The “busy time” includes the days when I often work late, and occasionally even work around the clock. I failed to realize that it was also the week between Palm Sunday and Easter – precisely my busy time for church, as well. And of course, I hadn’t foreseen that I would be in the middle of a career change and trying to sell a house and prepare for a move from Illinois to Pennsylvania. So in the last fifteen days, I have…

  • Been at work fourteen days, including one 48-hour on-call period;
  • Been worship leader for three different services;
  • Been song leader at two other services;
  • Worked to get our house on the market last Wednesday.

Because I was at work, I didn’t have to herd the girls in and out of the house for nine different house showings. Ordinary Spouse did that (and everything else needed to keep our home going and presentable). She’s amazing.

But when I left work today, the craziness of the last two weeks was in the past. My work responsibilities are nearly complete. The Good Friday and Easter services were very meaningful, I think. And the most astounding thing to me: after three days on the market, we have had a very generous offer for our home that we’ll accept tomorrow. In this housing environment, I never expected anything like that.

And so tonight, I’m filled with a deep sense of gratitude and thankfulness. Amen.


I believe… when I close my eyes to sleep at night, it’s good to say, ‘Amen.’

– Carrie Newcomer

