Well… if I’ve timed this right, we’re busy throwing our suitcases into the taxi for our ride to the airport, even as this blog post is published. Our flight leaves O’Hare around noon, and after a trip around the world with a brief stop in Seoul, we should get to Phnom Penh late Thursday night – roughly a full 24 hours of travel.

(Note for my ordinary family in the Eastern time zone: you’re exactly half a day behind Phnom Penh right now.)

After a couple of days to recover from jet lag in Phnom Penh, we’ll spend a few days in Siem Reap and Angkor, take a day trip into the countryside of Prey Veng, and then relax on the beach in Sihanoukville. And if I can talk Mr. Guest Complacent into taking me, I might get an iced coffee at some point.

And on December 1st? Culture and climate shock as we return home to the Chicago ‘burbs.

