This past Saturday, Laurelville held its first ever Spring Classic – a 5 km run/walk, a 1 mi run/walk, and a 200 meter junior jog – organized by Brian Paff, Director of Communications and runner extraordinaire.

A few months ago, I thought I should try to participate in the 5 km run. It would be a goal in my ongoing recovery from my DVT. Well, I didn’t manage to get in shape for the run (and I’m not sure that my leg would have allowed it anyway). However, I did manage to walk the full 5 km.

Here are a few pre-race photos:

Number 5 is ready to go!


Can anything slow him down?


No! He’s speedy!


And here is a cute little video of the race route. (I carried my GPS so that I could plot the route in Google Earth.)

I finished in under 50 minutes which isn’t saying anything. But hey – the last time I was at Laurelville I could hardly walk.

