My regular readers might know that my family has a book club.* My sister came up with the idea that we could all read the same book throughout the year – discussing it as much as possible (which is challenging, as it turns out). At the very least we’d discuss it at Christmas time.

* Since I have about six regular readers and since three or four of them are in the book club, it turns out that most of you should know about this!

Happily, I’ve just finished last year’s book: Winter World by Bernd Heinrich. It’s a tale of animal survival in the midst of brutal conditions. My dad chose it. I’ve given a few thoughts on it, although my thoughts tend to be more like a review and less like a discussion starter. If you’d like to be part of the discussion, maybe we should invite you to Christmas next year.

In the meantime, Ordinary Spouse has chosen this year’s book: Between Two Worlds by Roxana Saberi.

