I’m not sure that it’s a good idea to blog at 2:00 a.m. Nevertheless, I’ve been flummoxed by the confluence of Advent, Shane Claiborne, and perhaps the cocoa in the mocha that I enjoyed before bed (although I’m pretty sure that the coffee itself was decaf…).

I woke up two hours ago with my brain churning over something random that I read in a blog last evening. In my grogginess, I decided that there were more productive things to think about, and so I shifted to Advent. However, I think that I’m somewhat stressed by my worship responsibilities at church between now and Advent, so unfortunately that just got my mind going faster. Well, as long as I’m awake, I might as well try to redeem these thoughts…

Advent is scandal. Jesus is a scandal. My faith is a scandal. Scandal – derived from the Greek word for a trap or something that makes you fall or trip. Jesus makes worshiping hard. Who do I worship? A baby (Luke 2)? Someone in poverty or prison (Matthew 25)? A servant at my feet (John 13)? What kind of God is that?

And at this point, a passage from Shane Claiborne’s “The Irresistible Revolution” comes into my head. Oh, why must I read all these thought-provoking things right before bed? Shane writes…

“In my suburban comfort, I increasingly felt disturbed by God. I became very uncomfortable in the comfortable suburbs. The beautiful thing was my discomfort arose not from a cynical judgmentalism but from a longing for something more. I did not want to settle for comfort. I did not want to settle for a life detached from the groaning of the slums or the beauty of playing in open fire hydrants and having block parties in the inner city. I wanted to see the community of [my church] shared with the lonely suffering masses that needed it so badly but would never make it to [the suburbs]. The more I read the Bible, the more I felt my comfortable life interrupted.”

And now, it’s 2:30 a.m. Since I have to get to work early tomorrow, I’m going to go try to sleep some more.  But I’m not sure that sleep will relieve the scandal of 2:00 a.m. Something eventually will. I just wish I could see more clearly what that might be.

