During the last week, I’ve spent quite a bit of time confined to my hospital room or my bedroom. My wife has been amazing, taking on the task of mothering four (instead of three). And we’ve been blessed by the love of the Church. This is my picture of compassion:

  • Fourteen people visited me in the hospital
  • Two people visited me at home
  • I had two flower arrangements to brighten my hospital room
  • I received nine different get-well cards at the hospital, at home, and at church
  • Our family has received three different meals
  • I’ve been given four gifts to distract me from my pain
  • One person blessed my wife with childcare one morning so that she could come visit me in the hospital
  • I’ve received countless phone calls, facebook notes, and words of concern
  • And my mother-in-law spent three days with us to get us through the week

I am loved.

