Clearly not me.

My girls came home from an end-of-the-summer celebration at the library last Friday with three coupons (one each) for free goldfish. It was clear to me when they walked in the door that it was a battle that wasn’t worth fighting. We were getting fish. They were ready to get out the fish tank and start getting it ready immediately. I just looked at Ordinary Conspirator Mommy and said, “Does anyone ask the fathers before giving these things out?”

Sigh.

Wait – there’s more. OCM decided that it was too far to drive to get to that pet store, when there was a much closer one and the fish only cost 25 cents. So we ended up getting the fish anyway, but not using the coupons. Something is dreadfully wrong here.

And I haven’t mentioned our five – yes, five – other pets yet. We have five monarch butterflies in various stages of development. Count them: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Or, as U2 would say: “Uno, dos, tres, catorce!” Two chrysalis and three caterpillars.

So – we’ve got Jack, three fish, and five monarchs. Welcome to our zoo. I just wonder what I’ll do when Jack takes an interest in the fish.


Here are my older daughters introducing the fish.

