Now – I want to be clear. I’m not a hockey fan. I don’t really follow it all, or at least not until the playoffs start. But I am good luck for the teams that I would follow, if I were so inclined. Want proof? Ok – how’s this?

Pittsburgh Penguins – It doesn’t matter which sport it is; if they have a team in Pittsburgh, I’m going to cheer for them. Therefore, we count all of the years that Pittsburgh has won the Stanley Cup in my lifetime: 1991, 1992, 2009.

University of Michigan Wolverines – I started following U of M sports in 1994 when Ordinary Spouse became a student, and really paid attention after I also moved to Ann Arbor. Therefore, we count all of their NCAA championships since then: 1996, 1998.

Detroit Red Wings – We use the same logic as we did for the U of M to count the Wings’ Stanley Cup wins: 1997, 1998, 2002, 2008.

New Jersey Devils – I never really cared for New York-area sports teams. However, if I am, in fact, good luck to the local teams, you would expect my influence to rub off for the short time that my family lived on Long Island.  And that is what we find for the Devils: 2003.

Chicago Blackhawks – I really haven’t become a Chicago fan, but we live in the suburbs now. And so, my good luck continues: 2010.

If you’re counting, that’s eleven different championships in the past nineteen years!

Impressive, don’t you think? 🙂

