(Also known as “Getting Caught Up, Part II”)

No matter how busy my work schedule is, I at least have an hour to myself in the car every day.  Usually, I fill it with music, and in the last two weeks, that music has been by the Indigo Girls.

“Become You” by The Indigo Girls

“Poseidon and the Bitter Bug” by The Indigo Girls

Both albums contain a lot of stuff about the complexity of human relationships.  Of course, they have been singing about that since the beginning.  Here are some lines from two of the songs that I really like…

They’re sending soldiers to distant places
X’s and O’s on someone’s drawing board
Like green and plastic but with human faces
And they want to tell you it’s a merciful sword

But with all the blood newly dried in the desert
Can we not fertilize the land with something else
There is no nation by God exempted
Lay down your weapons and love your neighbor as yourself

“Our Deliverance” (from Become You)

Instead, let’s fight for something else…

All around us, things come apart
Broken pieces, broken hearts
Fix me, oil me, match me with the next best thing

Person to person, nation to nation
Heels dug in, no communication
Wily time sneaks her weathering

We’ve been wanting to be held by binding ties
We’ve been fighting for the love of our lives

“Love of Our Lives” (from Poseidon and the Bitter Bug)

