(Also known as “Getting Caught Up, Part V”)

First, my apologies to Mr. Guest Complacent, who enjoys reading “Five for Friday” and who came up with a wonderful list of five possible topics for future blog posts. Alas, he posted it (on a Friday) in the middle of my work madness. However, two weeks later, I’m ready to tackle the first of his suggestions. And so, in honor of Ordinary Spouse and only about a week late*, here is the Valentine’s Day edition of “Five for Friday”…

* On Valentine’s weekend, this was my schedule: Friday – worked until 1 a.m. on Saturday; Saturday – worked until midnight on Sunday; Sunday – worked until 11 p.m.; Monday – worked until 5 a.m. on Tuesday. How’s that for a great way to say, “I love you”? Thankfully, I got a chance to make up for it yesterday, when I made a pink and red supper for my women. There was a time when special meals were elegant. Now with three daughters, I aim for entertaining.

Five things I love about my not-so-Ordinary Spouse:

1) OS laughs at my jokes. I’m not funny. But she laughs anyway. Sometimes, she even laughs hard.

2) OS has a knack for helping me see the bigger picture. Example: We’ve had some tense times in our congregation recently. I try to be generous in understanding the viewpoints of others and routinely fail when I try to do that. OS helps me broaden my perspective. “Sounding board” is the term that fits here. She does it better and more quickly than anyone else.

3) OS has chosen to be a stay-at-home mom. She has a Ph.D. in chemistry (and is a better scientist than I am), but she has made it a priority to be at home. This is not a decision that our world always comprehends or values. But Ordinary Daughters and I are the beneficiaries.

4) OS: chef-in-chief. (Mini “Five for Friday” – favorite foods that OS makes: bread, pizza, tapioca pudding, any soup with caraway, oven-fried potatoes and veggies.)

5) (censored)

And the bonus today, b/c Mr. Guest Complacent gave me permission to include it:

6) OS understands me. She knows what I like. She knows that I’m an introvert and sometimes need some space. She knows how to make me a better father. She encourages me to be a better person.

