Well – I’ll be on the road again if today’s big snow doesn’t thwart my plans.  As my grandfather used to say, “God willing and the creek don’t rise…”

I’ve only been home from our Christmas travels for five days, but I’m leaving again for the east this evening.  I’m going to Laurelville* for their annual Music and Worship Leaders Retreat.  I’m really looking forward to an intense, jam-packed weekend.  The resource people (Marilyn Houser Hamm, Marlene Kropf, Ken Nafziger, and Ted Swartz) will be outstanding.  And Brian McLaren will be present as a participant.  I’m hoping to come home invigorated with lots of ideas for Lenten worship.

* Did I mention that Laurelville may be my favorite place on earth?  Oh, yeah – maybe half a dozen times.

In the meantime, I was looking over my blog reader recently at the things that others have written and I have found to be insightful.  I wanted to share a few of them.


“War as Theft” by Michael Danner

Michael begins with this quote:

Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies in the final sense a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.

You might be surprised who said it.

“Hunger, food, obesity, starvation” by Brian McLaren

Check out the fat map.

“Evangelism will change the world” by Peter Rollins

Maybe not what you think of, when you think of evangelism.

“What’s in a joke?” by Michael Danner

One more by Michael.  This one about poverty.

