Each Wednesday, I meet with a group from my congregation for a weekly supper and prayer time.  Afterwards, I facilitate a group Bible study, although one could almost call it a second time of prayer.  We approach the scripture using lectio divina.

Last night, we were reflecting on Psalm 146.  I was drawn to this verse:

I will praise the Lord as long as I live;
   I will sing praises to my God all my life long.

(Psalm 146.2, NRSV)

and especially to the word ‘sing’.  As I reflected on that word, I recalled an image of singing in my living room with my daughters.  I had my guitar hooked up to my amplifier, had some sound effects turned on (there’s one that the girls think sounds like an elephant), and we were having a grand time singing and dancing to some song that lends itself to enjoyment in that way.  The phrase ‘holy silliness’ seemed appropriate for the image that formed in my mind, and it stuck with me.  It wasn’t a phrase that I’d used before.

As I reflected more on ‘sing’, I recalled other images of holy silliness.  The blessing that we say before mealtime often contains some, as does the music time that I do with pre-school children on Sundays.

As a result of these reflections, I am living with another verse for today:

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.”

(Matthew 19.14, NRSV)

