I won’t claim that these are my all time favorite smells, but they are somewhat unique and help define me.  In no particular order:

  • Acetic acid – Yes, I like the smell of vinegar.
  • Prairie dropseed – About this time of year, this grass takes on a very heavy and earthy smell that also reminds me of Italian seasoning.
  • Fresh bread – This, of course, is not always conducive to maintaining proper weight.
  • Benzaldehyde – Go take a whiff of the almond extract in your kitchen cupboard.
  • Freshly ground coffee – I don’t really care for the taste of black coffee at all.  (Mocha is a different story.)  However, the smell is wonderful.

 And some honorable mentions:

  • The damp, woodsy smell in the mountains of western Pennsylvania – You just don’t want that smell in your basement.
  • The mixture of mower exhaust and freshly cut grass – This smell is also polluting the air, but I still like it.  I don’t get that smell with my mower.
  • Isoamyl acetate – Think ripe bananas.
