This post will probably not interest anyone except my family.  We’re just hangin’ around the house today, doing some odds and ends, and starting our packing for our travels next week.

One of the fun and frightening things about owning a house is doing the work that needs to be done around it – “fun” because you feel like you’ve accomplished something when you get a job done.  Maybe you got to use power tools.  Maybe there’s some “coolness” factor to doing something that not everyone knows how to do.  But “frightening” because, to be quite honest, I don’t know how to do one quarter of the stuff that might have to be  done at one time or another.

Anyway, I re-sealed our porch today.  I had the power washer out early (there’s a cool tool!), and after everything was dry, I laid down a new coat of sealer.

Now, I know that no one really cares to read about me, so let me just throw this in for good measure.  When I came in, my oldest daughter was performing a dolphin show in our living room.  And I offer the  following quote (something you don’t hear every day):

Get the blowholes ready, dolphins!

And one more quote with very little context.  This one came from the youngest daughter right after she climbed down from a bench.

I plopped down, bench.  This ploppah plopped.

Ah – such a cute age.

