My dear sister suggested that our family start a book club.  It would be a way of staying involved in each other’s lives, since her family is in Virginia, my parents are in West Virginia, and my family is in Illinois.  I’d like to be a part of that, but it’s going to be hard.  You see – I have a habit of starting books, but not finishing them.  Here’s what I’m currently reading…

  • Renaissance by Ruth Forman – I heard her on NPR one day reading the poem, “Prayers Like Shoes.”  I was hooked.  That poem isn’t in this collection, but a lot of real, down-to-earth stuff is here.  I’ve been reading it on and off for probably three years now.
  • Delights and Shadows by Ted Kooser – I’m not sure why I first picked this one up, but it must have been when he was Poet Laureate.
  • An Introduction to Mennonite History by Cornelius J. Dyck – I figure it’s good to know my past.
  • Small Wonder and High Tide in Tuscon by Barbara Kingsolver – You’d think I could finish one before starting another.
  • Amazing Grace: A Vocabulary of Faith by Kathleen Norris – I’m going to get this one for my sister for her b-day which was two months ago.  The good thing about books of essays is that you don’t have to read the whole thing to get something out of it.  Makes it a good choice for a book club.
  • Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America by Barbara Ehrenreich – This is the book that we’re supposed to be reading in our book club.
  • A Generous Orthodoxy by Brian McLaren – I picked this one up at Laurelville last weekend.
  • Simply Christian by N.T. Wright – A modern Mere Christianity?
  • Renovation of the Heart by Dallas Willard – I started this during Lent.  It seemed like an appropriate thing to do.  Perhaps I’ll finish by Easter next year?

Actually, they don’t all fit on my nightstand, so the area around it is usually a bit cluttered.  Lot’s of future blog topics here.  We’ll see which one I get finished first.

